Holy cow! Mother’s Day was on Sunday! I love any day that celebrates someone. I love showing people I love them. Even on a “Hallmark Holiday”.

I celebrated my adopted mom! But I still felt the hole where my birth mom was missing. I
don’t really look at it like Deborah replaced Sonja. I just have 2 moms. I’m very blessed in that way. But I know that if I was feeling that funky-ness on Sunday, others had to be feeling it too. Maybe you lost a child, or your mom isn’t a part of your life by choice. No matter the case, if you felt icky, even if it was just a little nagging feeling, you’re not alone. And you’re not crazy. You’re missing something. You’re longing for something. And other people are with you. I’m with you; in more ways than just losing a mom. It’s okay to have feelings. But don’t let those feelings make you bitter.

When you feel those icky things, acknowledge them. But find something to soothe your soul, and do it.

God doesn’t want you to live there, and He wants you to be happy. He wants to bless you. LET Him. Don’t block the blessing by being stuck in the dark. Be thankful for what you have, not what you’re missing.

My message to anyone missing someone this mother’s day is to not live in the past, and not stress about the future. You can still love your mom, celebrate your day, even if your baby isn’t there to do it with you.

So, this is what happens when you can no longer say nor hear “I’ll love you forever, I’ll like you for always. As long as I’m living, my baby you’ll be.”

  1. You cry. Because it  feels great.
  2. You stand up.
  3. Wipe your tears.
  4. Do something that brings you joy.
  5. Honor your mother or yourself with happy thought. Good things. and a thankful heart.

 

I know this is all over the place. Just needed to share my heart.

be blessed<3

