Hello, beautiful humans! How was your summer? I’m hoping good! We had some beautiful days, an eclipse, and some stormy days. Is there anything new going on in your life? Because there is in mine. Endings and beginnings. Death and life. Changes and chances. I think that’s what I wanna talk about today is the changes and chances in certain seasons of our life.

Changes are H A R D. Even small, good changes. Like when you get a new pair of glasses, you are going to have a head ache while your eyes and brain adjust to the script and the new frame shape. You need your script to be updated so you can see, but the update is a little uncomfortable.

Recently, I had to make the choice between staying a youth leader at Bethesda and becoming the head of youth ministries at The City Church. Both had pros and cons. I was torn. I had to really press into God and trust that I could hear Him correctly. I ultimately decided that it was time for me to move to a new opportunity.

That brought good and sad things. Like glasses, I needed an updated perspective. I needed my life to be where God needed it to be. So when I finally made the choice that meant I had to say goodbye to the kids that have filled my heart with such love for 6 years now. That hurt my heart. Just like new glasses hurt your eyes. Just because there is a little pain in moving on, doesn’t mean it’s not right.

Jesus’ life is PRIME example of this. We have a man that is also God, that was also responsible for saving the entire human race. Not one thought He had, not one breath, not one step Jesus took was wrong. But He knew pain. He knew rejection. Jesus knew the discomfort in His current season would be a small speck on His many, many season to come. We needed the change and chance Jesus brought. And we need the changes and chances God offers to us.

If you choose to look at everything through a positive mind set it can change your entire life. Yesterday I visited Living Rock Church and Pastor James had a GOOD word based off of Psalm 100. If you’re thankful to God through everything the blessings will pour out.

So choose to be thankful for the changes and the chances. Be thankful for friends you have now and friends you only had for a season. Be thankful for family. Be thankful for storms. Be thankful for restoration. Be thankful that we don’t go through things in vain.

 

Psalm 100:1-5

Shout for joy to the Lord, all the earth. Worship the Lord with gladness; come before Him with joyful songs. Know that the Lord is God. It is He who mad us, and we are His; we are His people, the sheep of His pasture. Enter His gates with thanksgiving and His courts with praise; give thanks to Him and praise His name. For the Lord is good and His love endures forever; His faithfulness continues through all generations.

